31003

I have read several articles online, many from HuffPost. And as I read them I am baffled as too why people jump into ‘Lynch Mob” mode in the comments section I’m talking comments like this “String her up in a tree and let her hang!”, “Death Penalty is too good for her!”, Then in the same sentence say something the fact of “I pray to god for the babies soul” Or “He is with Jesus now, rest precious Angel”

What the hell? How can people be so judgemental and religious at the same time? I honestly do not get it.

The article I read that prompted this post is this

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/04/01/latisha-fisher-smothers-son-bathroom_n_6987020.html?utm_hp_ref=crime

The article clearly states that the woman in question, Latisha Fisher, was diagnosed with Paranoid Schizophrenia. She has a history of violent harmful incidents. She poured hot oil over a boyfriends head and chased an Aunt with a knife and taser. She should not have had that baby in her care unsupervised. She is a sick woman who needs help. She needed help and she fell through the societal cracks that is given custody of a child that those around her knew he was not in a safe environment.

That is the title of the article. I read it through HuffPost’s Facebook. I was reading through the comments and I was sickened. Religious people, claim the love their God, and love their Bible. But they also are vehemently called for violence towards Fisher. Christians, I ask you. Does your book not say

Matthew 7:1-3King James Version (KJV)

Judge not, that ye be not judged.

For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.

And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?


Why is it that so many ignore that passage? I have struggled with wanting a relationship with god and being horrified what others whom I would lump myself into their group say and do to others. Christians. I also can not understand that God is supposed to be all loving, yet condemn and call for the murder of gay persons. But that is for another post entirely. How can these people go to church and then turn around and condemn another human being, fully knowing that the person they fling their hate towards is sick, that the person’s mind works against them and that it is something the person can not help. They did not choose to be sick. They would not choose to kill their baby. As a person who has struggled with mental health issues compounded with learning disabilities and an undiagnosis of Aspergers. I have empathy for Latisha Fisher. I am not sympathetic, I identify with the feeling that is knowing that I am not of total sound mind. Latisha Fisher can not help her Schizophrenia, I can not help what I have. I can try to mask it with meds, but it’s not as simple as just taking a pill and POOF, you’re better. It can take years to find the right medicine or even combinations of medicines. And even then, when your on meds, when you are stable, you think “Oh! I’m better, I don’t need that pill/s” and so you start on a downward spiral of being “Off your meds”. That is likely what Latisha went through.

People are unforgiving. They claim that you shouldn’t judge other and that mental health is a serious topic, but then event’s like that of Gavriel’s death brings out peoples ugly side. I guess I don’t understand how people can be so bipolar in their stances in topics like this.

I am, Unapologetically Empathetic.

