LGBT-Ally-Flag

 

I’m not sure what Pronouns to use as I know it can be a big deal with Trans, Intersex and Androgynous people. So I want to apologize now if I offend anyone. Please leave me a message as to how to address this subject in the future. This is the first time I have written anything on the subject of LGBTIQ issues.

 

So me and my mom got in a heated discussion while we watched American Idol last night On Demand. There was a contestant who has since been eliminated, who is and I’m not sure if he/she is transgender or if S/he’s just androgynous. Either way it doesn’t matter what a person chooses to wear.

 

JDA 1

Josh ‘JDA’ Davila

 

My mom and I’s view on LGBTIQ issues differ. I wholeheartedly believe that we as a country are not 100% free until EVERYONE has Equal Rights. Fifty plus years ago it was Rosa Parks and the Little Rock Nine. In 2013 we still have Civil Rights Issues. My mom believes that people should be able to marry whomever they want but she was very uncomfortable with what Jda was wearing on AI. Mom says that Jda’s an attention getter. She thinks Jda WANTS the attention. I don’t necessarily believe that. Yes, Jda’s a very big and loud personality, but I don’t think Jda does it for shock value which is what I think my mom was getting at last night.

 

 

What Jda was wearing wasn’t that “loud” in my opinion. Black skirt pants. Black strappy tank, black belt/suspender get up… not sure how to describe that lol . Anyways champagne sequence heels. I think the loudest part of Jda’s whole ensemble was the necklace, but that is just me. I just don’t like huge oversized jewelry… on anyone lol

My mom thinks that if Jda wants to dress as a woman, then Jda (avoiding using he/she him, his and her) should take hormones to stop Jda’s facial hair… Grrr. It does not matter! No one should have to conform to anyones view of “Normality”. I told her that if she feels that men should not wear dresses, or skirts, she better talk with the Scot’s, Roman’s and any other era of men who didn’t wear pants! Even now Indian men wear dhoti, Sri Lankan men wear sarongs! It’s hypercritical to say men can’t wear dresses or skirts. We woman have been wearing men’s pants since Amazonia woman in 470 BC. It is an article of clothing! And to be quite honest, I thinking Jda makes for a beautiful woman! So come one people get with the times! It is a piece of fabric for gods sakes! What one wears or even marries for that matter is that persons Prerogative!

